If you need a more accessible version of this website, click this button on the right. Switch to Accessible Site

WARNING

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Close [x]

We value our clients' experience at Portsmouth Animal Hospital. If your pet or animal is currently a patient, please feel free to complete the following Client Experience Questionnaire. The Questionnaire is in Adobe Acrobat format, and requires the free Acrobat Reader to view.

Download & Print Questionnaire

Dr. Klarissa Ligon, Dr. Amy Harrell, Dr. David Smith, and Dr. Lisa Corkern


See what our clients are saying about us on review sites across the web.


Ed G. via Google Reviews     a week ago

They are the best vet in Portsmouth. I have two cats. One is allergic to everything, but the other is prone to urinary blockages, and they have saved his life more than once. They offer medicine that works, staff that genuinely cares and services that won't break the bank. 5 STARS !


Amelia C.  via Google Reviews  4 months ago

Since we moved to the area about 6 months ago, we've been bringing our dog, Brutus, here for checkups and boarding. He is always excited to go and the staff is so sweet to him! Also, a weird detail but when you bring your dog here, they give you an ID card for your pet with their updated shots and a photo. It's very cute and a really good idea. Anyway, we love PAH and would recommend this vet to anyone!


Andrew B. via Google Reviews  4 months ago

By far the best animal hospital I've ever been to. The staff is every personable and helpful. They treat your pet pretty much as their own. No issues making appointments and them keeping the promised time. Highly recommend them!!!


Shirley C. via Google Reviews 2 months ago

The staff is very loving to my fur baby. They really take great care of her... veterinary and boarder side.


Justine W.   4/1/2018

Dr. Smith was very informative about my cat s condition. Very caring and helpful when it came to getting the meds for my cat.


Cheryl W.    4/1/2018

I am so glad that I found this Vet. The doctors are fantastic. They are so loving and caring with the animals, especially Dr. Krocken.


Suzanne D.  3/27/2018

All of the staff make our family feel welcome. I never feel rushed or that any complex issues any of my pets are having , have not been given deep thought to try and find a solution. I appreciate how we are treated with respect and I feel like my pets are loved by Portsmouth Animal Hospital.


Vickie G.  3/25/2018

I have never been so happy that I made this change. Your staff and medical team are phenomenal! I always have a thousand questions because it has been a very long time since I had a puppy. It s been almost a year now. Your team has shown all the patience in the world answering my silly questions. Customer support or (client support) is vital and your team is top of the line. Sincerely, Vickie G. and Ricki Sue


Janice S.   3/16/2018

The vets and staff are wonderful with Marley. Very caring and patient.


Kenneth M.   3/10/2018

Thank you for the diagnosis of my dog Fatz. The medicine prescribed has been providing significant help with Fatz recovery.He seems to be resting comfortably as well as I am.


Shanna R.   3/8/2018

The physician was a lovely gentleman who was very thorough with the care of my canine. His recommendations and alternatives proceed him knowledgeable and I enjoy this new practice


Patricia M.   3/7/2018

Best place for my elderly dog, they love him, they call him by name when we walk in & they give excellent care! 5 stars!


Morgan D.  3/5/2018

This is a great veterinary hospital. The staff is warm and caring, and the Drs. are wonderful. I have felt other facilities were always somehow adding things to my bill that didn t seem necessary after I left. These vets tell you what you need for your animal and offer other services, but you never feel pressured. I ve been coming to this group for about 10 years, and they have never changed. Two thumbs up from me!


Susan B.    3/2/2018

Would never go anywhere else!.


Cheryl & Michael S. 3/2/2018

Thank you so much for taking good care of my babies. Three sets of clean teeth!


Emily L   3/1/2018

Thank you for taking such good care of Penny.


Deana B.   2/22/2018

Love Dr Harrell and the staff. I’ve moved 1 hour away and still take my fur babies to Portsmouth Animal Hospital. It’s worth the drive.


Danielle T.   2/17/2018

I love all the staff who works at this facility. My only issue is that the building is on the small side. I know it was myself and my 80+ pound dog along with 5 other people and their pets. I think with the surpurb customer service i received along with the knowledge of my pets health a larger facility condusive for owners and staff. Other than that I had a fantastic time. Thank you!!!!


Judy P.   2/11/2018

We met with Dr Smith for the first time after having spent the last 10 years with Dr Caroline Bundy as our vet. We left Dr Bundy only because of the convenience of your location and because of Daisy being difficult to groom. Portsmouth Animal Hospital has met our grooming needs for our difficult Daisy dog for several months now. We are very pleased with Dr Smith. We were concerned about having another new groomer and Daisy, but she did the absolute best job of grooming Daisy then we have seen in over a year. Thanks to Dr Smith and Portsmouth Animal Hospital for allaying our fears and meeting our current needs with our much loved pet.


Posted 01/26/2013 00:00 on Super Pages

MARYGB
    
I LOVE this place! It used to be Casey Animal Hospital and was OK, but the new owners bought the practice in 2011 and have really made it a great place to take your pets. Dr. Harrell is still there and she is nice and the new owner is also one of the vets. She rocks! Got on the floor to examine my dog and made us feel at ease. She explained his problem and gave us alot of options to treat him...


Posted 01/26/2013 00:00 on Yellow Bot
Guest76627
    
Great Vets. New owners have updated lobby and exterior, looks great. Friendly staff, great experience.


Posted 09/30/2011 00:00 on Yellow Bot
Betty-Jo I.
    
Casey Animal Hospital, now "Portsmouth Animal Hospital" is the best place around! We have been with them for over 7 years. We have rabbits, and it is very hard to find a vet for exotic animals. We are very pleased with the Doctors and staff, they are always there for us and work with us to keep our pets happy and healthy.


Carol M.
    
The staff have always been attentive, professional and loving toward our pets. When our dog passed away, they sent a nice sympathy card. That was above and beyond humane.


Posted By :    Stephanie Brockwell  (Brockslair@msn.com
Posted :    10/30/2013
Comments :    I and my animals are always treated like royalty! Love Dr. Ligon. You tell she loves the animals and always does her best for them. Dr. Harrell and Dr. Smith are also excellent. The staff are warm and friendly. I am very particular about my kids! When my previous vet moved to another practice (where I was still taking my older dog) we switched everyone to here. Dr. Ligon has impressed our family as the best vet we have ever been to!! She listens to the owners concerns and is understanding while always giving the animal the best care possible! Have recommended the practice to many others. We greatly appreciate Portsmouth Animal Hospital!!


 

THIS ---->https://portsmouthvetcom.vetmatrixbase.com/veterinarian-reviews.html

Office Hours

DayOpenClosed
Monday8am5pm
Tuesday8am7pm
Wednesday8am1pm
Thursday8am5pm
Friday8am5pm
Saturday8am1pm
SundayClosedClosed
Day Open Closed
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
8am 8am 8am 8am 8am 8am Closed
5pm 7pm 1pm 5pm 5pm 1pm Closed

Testimonial

Excellent establishment! Not only are the receptionists all so friendly and accommodating, but they got my poor old boy in almost immediately because he was in pain. Also, Dr. Smith and Leah were absolutely amazing! They are friendly and compassionate and obviously love and are blessed at what they do...thank you all so much!

Erica M.
Portsmouth, VA

Newsletter Sign Up